Skip navigation

I think a big part of maturation process is realizing that you come from a family and that no matter how hard you try to break from its gravitational pull, you will always in some way be influenced by them. This is a hard realization because there are a lot of people out there who try to escape the fate of their families their entire lives. Even if we have good relationships with our family, we still must reject or accept their teachings, mannerisms, and values. Even if end up rejecting everything, at the very least they express themselves in our bodies.

I think, in the end, however, love brings you back to the table. Love and the bond of blood.

Divorce occurs for a variety of reasons, but I suppose that one of the causes for divorce must be because no blood bond exists to secure the relationship. In marriage, a blood bond is impossible and abhorrent, so society must settle for a second one based on the law. If blood does not bind the two together, then the law must serve as a binding agent between the two parties.

It is no wonder, then, that in the process of divorce the two separating parties always fight over the rights over their children. Whereas the bond between two married couples is based on a contract, the relation between parent and child is defined by blood, and now the law must somehow supersede blood in defining parental rights to the child. By blood, both parents have a binding connection to the children, but because of a contractual break, the blood connection must be weakened on a practical level (though not on an ontological one). This is one reason why divorce is so painful because the parents are not only breaking a legal contract with each other but also weakening their rightful, blood-bonded relationship with their children.

——

When God employs the metaphor of marriage in the OT, he’s making a contractual type of agreement with his people, Israel. He says, you, Israel, will be like my wife and I will love you as my wife so long as you fulfill your duties in your contract. At least this is my understanding of Mosaic law. Of course, we know how that story goes.

When God introduces Jesus and his blood into the story, he creates a new covenant that fundamentally changes the nature of our relationship to God from a contractual type of relationship between husband-wife to one based on blood between parent-child. This is not to say that in the OT God did not apply the parent-child metaphor to Israel – this metaphor comes up a lot. But the blood relation between Himself and Israel still seemed to be predicated on contract and animal sacrifice, whereas the new relation is bound by the blood of Jesus Christ. If JC calls us his brothers, so then we must be his siblings as well as fellow blood-bonded children of God (John 1:12; Romans 8:17-19). Because Jesus is God incarnate, his blood legitimizes and solidifies God’s connection with His people (this time including Gentiles), except it is final and absolute in contrast to the temporary shedding of goats and lambs’ blood of the OT. Whereas the Israelites were forced to continually perform ritual and symbolic blood shedding to reconnect with God, all the world is now covered with the blood of Jesus, a blood that legitimizes and connects us to God forever as we are his blood-bonded children.

In other words, Jesus’s blood makes our connection with God permanent. God, in all his holiness and glory and morality, cannot destroy us because He cannot destroy his own flesh and blood. We are bound forever by the blood of the new covenant.

This faith in Jesus’s blood secures our connection to God, which replaces our enmity with Him with peace between God and ourselves.

This is a profound truth for me. As someone who is constantly testing the limits of the family bond, I realize that no matter what I do the bond between myself and my family can never be severed in any way because of our shared genetic material. Even if I am disowned by my family I still share their genes, which ontologically makes me forever a member of that family regardless of oaths or legal status. From my conception to the day of my death, I shall always remain a member of my family regardless of the words and contracts that are drawn up between those events.

Similarly, God, even if he sees me now in all my imperfection and un-glory and sin, he cannot remove the connection between myself and himself because of the bond established by the shared blood of Christ. I don’t know how biblical all of this is, but it seems to me that because I carry Jesus’s blood in me, through faith, I am now eternally secured to God my Father regardless of what I do from my birth to my death. This can be confusing as most religions, to my knowledge, require repentance in the form of action or penance to reestablish a connection to God/god. But God knew that such acts of repentance were worthless because they imply a relationship that is still based on contract rather than blood. Instead, God eliminates the contractual relationship and creates a blood relationship that secures His position as a Father and our position as children. This blood relation is eternal and does not end at death, and, perhaps, even exists before (human) life. You share divine blood – and you did nothing or can do nothing to preserve or create that bond. Obviously, this line of thinking can be abused.

Nevertheless, it is a curious idea to contemplate that God cannot destroy me because I am of his flesh and blood through Christ Jesus. That sounds rather blasphemous, but I don’t think I’m looking at it as if I tricked him into staying his own hand against me. It’s more like he loved the world to the extent that he desired a blood relation between his people and himself. I’m not really sure why he did that. I don’t think He’s lonely or needy for some fulfilling relationship. I’m not even sure if it’s for recognition. I know the answer is glory but I don’t even know what that means. I have negative connotations with that word.

At the end of the day, however, through JC I am a son of God.

Blasphemous. Outrageous. Arrogant. Ridiculous. Stupid. Pretentious.

but, I am a son of God.

Honorable. Noble. Legitimate. Strong. Indomitable. Proud. Virtuous. Eminent.

Loved.

Leave a Reply

