Skip navigation

Home is great, but not so great.

On one hand, your parents are trying to do every little thing for you as if you were a little kid again.

On the other hand, your parents are trying to do every little thing for you as if you were a little kid again.

And most of the time, the energy it takes to protest requires more energy than actually doing the task itself. So before attempting to do even the most simple tasks for myself or for my parents, my mind automatically calculate the strange consequences that follow any offers to help:

If I offer to put away the dishes, then,”you don’t know how to put it away right. Don’t touch it. Let dad do it. He hasn’t done anything all day, so this is his exercise.”

If I offer to pay for dinner/lunch, “no you idiot. Save your money, you’re a poor teacher (me in my head: not that poor)  and you need to save enough to do something real in the future”. 

If I protest fresh slices of fruit even when I never asked for them and am fully capable of cutting them myself, “YOU MUST EAT FRUIT. YOU WILL GO BLIND IF YOU DON’T EAT FRUIT. YOU WILL DIE IF YOU DON’T EAT FRUIT! DON’T BE A COMPLAINING SON – YOU NEVER COMPLAINED OF EATING FRUIT BEFORE, WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU?!”

etc. etc.

And after a week of haggling, you’re just too tired to put up a fight anymore, and your parents have successfully transformed you into the baby they’ve always known.

One Comment

  1. goodness! it’s funny and sad that i can relate to this post one hundred percent.


Leave a Reply

