Skip navigation

I arrived here in late August, and now it’s mid-December. I hate falling back on platitudes, but time flies!

I thought I would blog more, but I haven’t. What else is new? It’s just too taxing on the brain to write something of worth, but I know that mental block is probably keeping me from being a better writer. Must chop block.

Things I’m thankful for:

1. A super positive school environment. It doesn’t feel fake either. We start off our classes with devotions, sharing, and prayer. Some people even remember your prayer request from the last week and ask you about it. It’s not all about academics here, which is nice.

2. Housemates. Everyone is responsible. Everyone is clean. Everyone is respectful. We ask about each other’s lives, and we practice confession and prayer. I know if something is on my mind I can share it and I know I won’t be judged. They also don’t try to fix me, which is nice. As much as I loved living at home and getting chummy with the folks, there’s just something special about living in community. Many college grads experience the pain of losing community in the first few years after college, and I used to scoff at their sentimentality. But people are meant to live in community, and I realize that that sentimentality reveals a deep longing for community in your neighbors. Why do Americans choose to isolate themselves? I don’t get it.

3. Making new friends as opposed to just meeting new people.

4. Rest. I think this time last year I was about ready to zip myself up in a cryogenic sleep chamber like the ones in Interstellar. Except I knew I couldn’t do that because I had essays to grade over break. piles and piles of essays. and piles. Now, I can wake up at 7am and not panic.

5. God. I don’t know how existentialists do it. They are a brave breed of people, but God in his grace has given me an identity that cannot be revoked. A son, an heir, a child, a brother, an ambassador, and more.

That’s all for now. I’m sure there’s more but these are just off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

