Skip navigation

As I rubbed my sore eyes tired  from scanning jobs announcements and job advice columns online all day, I knew it was time to take a break. So, I decided to get out and explore our long-forgotten backyard today.

When we first moved into our current house we were inspired by the expansive and diverse landscape developed by our industrious predecessors who obviously had a penchant for gardening. However, not being green thumbs ourselves, we left Nature to fill the void where man had deserted, only cursorily sending a gardener into the bush to maintain some semblance of decency. Later we even stopped sending a gardener, thereby allowing Nature her way.

Needless to say, when one lets Nature have her way, the backyard was a mess. Fallen branches of trees laid over crushed paths, dead oak leaves covered the ground, and weeds upon weeds upon weeds were shoving other plant life for space. Plant parts littered the battlefield. Our once tame backyard perniciously grew into a mangy, unnavigable, unmanageable beast.

But out of the desiccated debris I found these treasures:

Crocus speciosus I believe (I inquired on a flower forum).

It seems, according to my Wiki research, that this flower is part of the Iris family, and a perennial, which means that it lives for several years. It grows out of corm, or an onion like thing. This flower is also mentioned in the Bible. The author compares the bursting of Israel’s joy to the sudden and rapid blossom of this lurid patch of bloom!

And just as I was about to leave I was stopped dead in my tracks by this:

A gargantuan tower of a wooden statue!

The face of David

On a stick!

(see bottom right).

Sometimes it pays to explore the beaten path.

2 Comments

  1. First, I can’t believe “dictionopolis” wasn’t already taken, as an account name. lucky! So does this make you Azaz?

    Second, nice photos! funny, I’ve had crocuses on the brain lately since it’s one of the few things starting to bloom here, and I was out just today taking pictures of them at Longwood and UD. I’m sorry to say that what you have there is probably NOT C. speciosus, which is a fall-blooming species. But I don’t know what it is; it’s probably one of many spring-blooming crocuses that are available in the gardening trade.

    Third, it’s nice to see you blogging again. keep it up!

  2. i liked the pun! beaten path – hahaha.


Leave a Reply

