Skip navigation

1. Mercenary (adj) – (of a person or their behavior) primarily concerned with money at the expense of ethics.

a) Piper, Desiring God: But to be motivated by a desire for happiness or pleasure when I volunteered for Christian service or went to church– that seemed selfish, utilitarian, and mercenary (18).

b) I caught the bastard’s mercenary eyes. It spread wide- but not too wide, checked himself just in time to reveal the truth to the undiscerning eye- when the ears told it that there was money to be made in this corrupt deal.

2. immutable – unchanging over time or unable to be changed

a) C.S. Lewis, Weight of Glory: “But these are all inadequate, because the infinite abyss can only be filled by an infinite and immutable object, that is to say, only by God Himself”

b) buzzzzz….! I laid in bed, tired, but not asleep. My pillow cradling my head, my body properly cocooned in by my blankets, and my lids responding with soft shut, my body easy, but my poor ears involuntarily wide awake, picking up the gardener’s mowing machine’s low hum. They say that you can get used to a sound until it fades into some muted noise. But the droning noise remained in my ears, my head, like an obstructive, immutable fact, reminding me that it’s probably 8am, and that it’s time to wake up to another crappy day.

3. Surmise – suppose that something is true without having evidence to confirm it

b) Piper, Desiring God: The surmise that here we have another spin-off from modern man’s enslavement to the centrality of himself will be very wide of the mark.

c) I surmise that God is real though I have no means to prove such.

Leave a Reply

